Header - David R. Ellspermann Header Clerk of the Court February 21, 2017

Marriage License Frequently Asked Questions

What is needed to get a marriage license?
Single adults (18 years of age and older) may obtain a marriage license by appearing in person at the Clerk's office with their driver's license or other acceptable identification card and the ending date of their last marriage, if applicable. Please refer to the Fees and Charges section for the fee of a marriage license.

How long does it take to get a license?
Effective January 1, 1999 Florida residents have a choice of options to obtain a marriage license:

(1) Both applicants may take a premarital preparation course given by a provider registered with the clerk of court and receive a $32.50 discount on their marriage license. The provider will give the applicants a certificate showing completion of the course, and this certificate must be presented to the marriage license department when applying for a license. Please refer to the Fees and Charges section for the discounted fee.

(2) Florida residents not wishing to take the marriage preparation course will not receive the discount and there will be a three-day waiting period from the date of application to issuance of the license. Please refer to the Fees and Charges section for the cost of a license.

(3) Out of state residents have no waiting period. Please refer to the Fees and Charges section for the out of state charges.

How long is the license valid?
Florida marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from the effective date. The marriage license must be returned to the Clerk's Office for recording within 10 days after the marriage is performed.

What are the age restrictions for obtaining a marriage license?
To obtain a license without parental consent, both the male and female must be at least 18 years of age. The 18-year minimum age does not apply for individuals who have been married previously. The age requirement can be waived by a county judge for applicants who can prove they are parents or expectant parents or those that are 16 and 17 years of age with parental consent.

Under Florida law, email addresses are public records. If you do not want your email address released in response to public records requests, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.